From The Gazette


Gibson ousts longtime Kirkland mayor John Meaney (with full council results)

In a major upset in Kirkland, veteran councillor Michel Gibson defeated longtime mayor John Meaney on Sunday.

Gibson collected 3,818 votes, or 50.6 per cent of the vote, to Meaney’s 3,314 votes, or 43.9 per cent of all ballots cast. Daniel La Tour had 414 votes.

Council racees

District 1:
Michael Brown: 500 – Elected with 50.76 of all ballots cast
Neil Semenchuk: 485 votes

District 2:
Lucian Piciacchia acclaimed.

District 3
Tony Di Gennaro acclaimed.

District 4
Domenico Zito: 385 – Elected with 44.56 per cent of votes cast
Spencer Haywood: 228 votes
Sophie Mohsen 179 votes
Shahla Amiri: 41 votes
John Scherer: 31 votes

District 5
Brian Swinburne: 549 – Elected, with 72.05 per cent of all ballots cast
Maxime Savard: 213 votes

District 6
John Morson acclaimed

District 7
Paul Dufort acclaimed

District 8
Andre Allard: 292  - Elected with 33.22 per cent of all ballots cast
Karen Cliffe 220 votes
Nancy Kokinasidis 185 votes
Peter Rakobowchuk 182 votes



  1. To all candidates that lost in the Election 2013 municipal election, let’s get together for a “Beautiful Losers” dinner and civic awards night with special invited guests. As I have a group reservation at “La Maison Verte” of Sainte-Genevieve on Friday, December 20th for a dinner date before the stand up comedy night featuring Francois Massicotte at the Theatre Pauline Julien at the Gerald Godin CEGEP, call or email me to make your reservation ASAP (514) 630-6116, email:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>